top of page
Search

#WeGotDys

Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one. 

 Bruce Lee


 

I took part in a 30 day challenge to bring awareness to dysautonomia and what our community deals with on a daily basis. As the month comes to close I wanted to drop some of my favorite take away posts from this challenge.


Day 18 of dysautonomia awareness month // Dysautonomia warrior What is a warrior? A warrior fights. A warrior is fierce. A warrior rises to the battle, even with the battle is her own self. A warrior doesn’t give up . A warrior gives it all . Be a WARRIOR . Get down to business, defeat the Huns.



Day 17 of dysautonomia awareness month// Join the fight ! Today i will ask you to Join the fight . This doesn’t mean to spend all of your money donating. This doesn’t mean to march and rally . I simply ask for awareness and compassion . We’re not faking it , believe us . We’re not crazy , don’t make us feel as so. We’re not contagious, don’t avoid us . We need our friends . Some times a text is all the human interaction we get that day . Just be human. We are too 💙💙

Day 16 of dysautonomia awareness month// Why do we need awareness ? Can you imagine having all these crazy symptoms in all these different body systems ? Being misdiagnosed for years . Being told it’s all in your head ? At one point I seriously thought I was crazy, certifiable and ready for the nut hut . It took a team of doctors connecting the dots to realize there was seriously something wrong . Did I want a life altering diagnosis ? Absolutely not. Was a secretly stoked when I got a diagnosis . Yes. Why? Because I knew at that point my fight for years was valid and I wasn’t crazy I am thankful for my team but there are still so many fighting for their diagnosis .


Day 15 of dysautonomia awareness month// My daily life;

My daily life used to be working as a dispatcher and teaching CPR five days a week. (On medical leave) I would then have family and friend filled weekends getting into some kind of trouble . My daily life now looks like a whole lot of this . Dog cuddles, meds, blankets , and naps . I am starting PT soon so I will get human interaction . Due to side effects of chronic illness from the blast of hospitalization I need me time. I need time to heal and recover. I may not fully be back at 100% but I’m slowly getting there . #wegotdys #dysautonomiachallenge #dysautonomiaawareness #dysautonomia

Day 14 of dysautonomia awareness month// What is HOPE

Hope is a state of mind, knowing there is light at the end of the tunnel . Even though this chapter is tough, I know the light at the end is stable health. The light at the end is back to things I enjoy like theatre . The light at the end of the tunnel is being able to work full time again. I hope for day that there is a cure or simply a treatment for dysautonomia. I hope for the day where it all falls into place.


Day 13 of dysautonomia awareness month// Favorite inspirational quote “Though she be but little she is fierce “- A Midsummer Nights Dream, Act 3 Good ole Willy. Being a theater kid I’ve always loved William Shakespeare, but this quote really ring true when I got sick. I’ve always been the “little one” as I’m only five feet tall. From the first time I read this play I decided from then on out to do everything not lukewarm but fiercely! I took this to a whole new level with my health. Fiercely self advocating. Fiercely advocating for the sake of others.Instead of withering away in my diagnosis, fiercely taking it head on. I challenge you to live your life fiercely , share with me YOUR favorite inspirational quote !! #wegotsys



Day 9 of dysautonomia awareness month // For dysautonomia awareness month I want ....

Awareness . The average diagnosis takes four to six years . Can you imagine ? There is currently NO FDA certified treatments for POTS. There is no cure . There is no known cause. There came a time when I thought I was certifiable. I thought I belonged in the nut hut. When so many systems are involved in a chronic illness it makes it difficult to pinpoint the area too look at . When all the standard tests come back normal they’re so quick to jump to say it’s mental illness. Tests came back normal because you’re not looking in the right places . I’ll admit it as a medical professional I used to be quick to judge but since starting my journey as a patient I have taken a step back and found advocacy . Advocacy for those difficult cases . Advocacy for my self and others in my situation . I hope bringing awareness to dysautonomia will stop some else from having to go through the same hell I have been going through . 💙💙


Day 8 of Dysautonomia awareness month // Your inspiration! My inspiration is this lovely man of mine . I wasn’t sick when we got married . He didn’t sign up for this , but he signed up to love me. So many times I’ve given him an out and time and time again he chooses me, in sickness and all. He inspires me to do better and fight harder . He busts his ass for his family always . Even after he’s come home dog tired from work he helps me if needed . He is a class act . I don’t normally question God but I don’t know what I did to be blessed with this man . Thank you for inspiring me everyday and loving me through it 💙




Day 6 of dysautonomia awareness month// What dysautonomia looks like

I wanna be transparent with y’all. I won’t sugarcoat it.This is what #dysautonomia looks like . Each day with chronic illness is different. There isn’t a formula or plan as to how youll feel. Take each day a step at a time and live your life 💙


These are just some of my highlighted days that show a light into my life with Dysautonomia. If you're interested in all 30 days you can head on over to my IG @Chronicallyleu.



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page