top of page
Search

Sepsis// A life-threatening complication of an infection

Updated: Oct 14, 2019


It’s been a debate as to write this post of not . So as #sepsisawareness month comes to an end I find it only fitting to share my journey and encourage others to be an advocate for themself and loved ones. After trying to sleep off what I can only describe as a Dysautonomia “flare” I realized something wasn’t right . Even alternating medication my fever was 103.7 and I was hard to arouse . I was presenting with tachycardia And confusion . The doctor at urgent care heard my concerns and immediately had me sent to the emergency room. Once there I was labeled “sepsis alert.” In a two hour span I was told I had a UTI, a kidney infection, or chest infection. From the get go I had argued that something in my gut told me my Port-A-Cath was infected. By the end of the night I was told they had no idea where the infection came from. They couldn’t find a source. Yet again I argued that I thought it may be my power port. For those of you who know me on a personal level know Im an EMT. I was told the port was just fine. My findings or suspicions weren’t taken into account since I was “just a patient.” Though my blood cultures were positive the infection source had them confused. After much conversation and threats of liability, 25 hours later my port was finally being deaccessed, and the culprit of the infection was found. I was diagnosed with MSSA Bacteremia. My port was removed the following morning in general surgery and it has been an uphill battle since . From then on it has been nothing but complication ,including multiple midlines (which have all malfunctioned in multiple capacities ,) pulmonary embolisms , and poor continuation of care . After specifically notating my allergies, I was given something that I have a known reaction to, and was told that they would”treat it accordingly .” Even though the floor of the hospital had what I needed (as well as having extras on me.) I was sent home with a blood clot, with no central line access. For those of you who have been following my story you know that a central line is crucial to my dysautonomia and mass cell treatment. Upon discharge I was told it was my “primary doctor’s problem to figure out now. “. At a later time I will go more into detail about my struggles with this pulmonary embolism, but for now I leave you with this; Please be your own advocate, please don’t be afraid to speak up. Speak up for others and they cannot speak up for themselves .



148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page