top of page
Search

Chronically Cooking

 

I cherish all the times that food has brought me together with family and friends. I mean I'm a total foodie. Like which recipe can I try next ? Who can I have dinner with ? Being chronically ill has altered the view of food I once loved . Where I once stood in the kitchen for hours preparing meals to share , I now struggle to cook a simple meal. Once I could eat whatever I wanted without care. Now I worry if my next meal will send me into anaphylaxis. You see, being chronically ill means going one step further to ensure (or attempt) the safest meal you can. This means having an Epi pen within arms reach when preparing or eating a meal. Even through there is all these twists and turns in the road , I have managed to find ways to still love food and cooking as a spoon.

My favorite hack for cooking with chronic illness ( or in general) is to learn to LOVE slow cookers. Seriously. Low on spoons? Have to take the kids to school? Have appointments out of the wazoo? SLOW COOKER BABY! It takes like ten minutes to throw all the goodies in there and just walk away. On those rough, tough, or busy days this is my saving grace. My favorite slow cooker meal is Mississippi roast. It as easy as putting a roast in, dumping some ingredients on top, and walking away. My go to sides are white rice ( made in a rice cooker,) rolls, or mashed potatoes. This recipe is always a hit in our household. It's easy prep, delicious outcome, and always a leftover winner.

Mississippi Roast

Ingredients

-3lb chuck roast

-1 packet of au ju mix

- 1 packet of ranch mix

- Half stick of butter

- 1/4 cup of water

- pepperoncini peppers to taste ( I use like 10)

--- Pour water into slow cooker and place roast on top. Sprinkle on the au ju juice and ranch mix packets. Place the tabs of butter on roast. Place in peppers. ( I like to add juice to mine)

Cook on low for 8 hours, shred and enjoy.

If I have a day that I'm actually functioning well or a day i can save up extra spoons for , I will make a big batch of freezer meals. I love Pinterest for easy ideas. Usually these are titled "dump meals." I try to double up the recipe to make more meals. Depending on what you choose to make ( on the real rough days I do the 5 ingredients or less meals) this process could take under an hour to a few hours . Once they are bagged up, lay them flat in the freezer for easy storing. Now the morning of meal day you can simply lay it in the fridge to thaw and follow the directions you put.

Frezer Dump Chili

Ingredients

-1.5lbs beef

-1 yellow onion// diced

-1 green pepper// diced

-8 oz.) can tomato sauce

-16 oz. can petite diced tomatoes

- 3tbsp tomato paste

-16 oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

2 1/2 tablespoons chili powder 2 tablespoons ground cumin

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 tablespoon garlic salt and pepper to taste

---Brown the beef in a skillet. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic to the skillet and cook until soft. In another bowl combine the tomato products and seasonings. Then combine the meat and beans with the tomato mix. Put into freezer bag .

Cooking directions-- Thaw , place in crock pot, cook on low for 4-5 hours ( the longer the yummier!) Top as desired. My favorite is a spaghetti noodle base, then chili topped with onions, cheese and sour cream. YUM!

Some days I have to cook. I just need to do it for my own sanity. I know that it is a housewife's duty. Sometimes I have a new recipe that just needs attention. This is where I trust sitting down to cook. I have found a foldable (space saving) stool is an easy go to . Knowing a chair is close by if I am feeling faint is also reassuring for me. Some of us are heat intolerant due to MCAS and the simple heat from the stove can make us symptomatic.I have found that sitting while cooking adapts this feat to allow me easier access to something I once loved deeply.



With having an ill body sometimes I just can't hack cooking, even with my hacks. These are the days I am blessed to have my amazing husband step in. He is an amazing cook and sometimes I just need to let go and let him do. Even with him busting his hump to provide for our family, he knows that some days I just can't manage. Boy does he step up to the plate. Just this week he made a delicious stuffed pork chop meal. It has taken me time to realize I am not superwoman. I have to have help. I had to learn to accept the help and swallow the pride I boasted. This pride was due to me being a woman who needed to "be in the kitchen." A woman who grew up with meal times as community. A woman who got a love of food from her family.


Five years down the road of chronic illness I've learned to adapt. Using the tips and tricks I've learned along the way has been crucial. Utilizing these tools has allowed me to continue to cook and cater to others with food. Whether it is a simple pb&j, a four course meal , or take out, learn to love the food you're nourishing your temple with.



33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page